Producer: Tinu Verma
Director: Tinu Verma
Music: Ismail Darbar
Lyrics: Mehboob
Starring: Karishma Kapoor, Sunil Shetty & Dino Morea

Karisma Kapoor is making her first big screen appearance of the year alongside the likes of Dino Morea, Jackie Shroff and Sunil Shetty in Baaz. This thriller has music by Ismail Darbar, well known for the successful music scores of Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam and India’s Oscar hopeful Devdas. However Ismail Darbar’s efforts in other soundtracks haven’t met with the same level of success and he hopes to break that jinx with this soundtrack.

1. Aey Subah (Roop Kumar Rathod, Sadhana Sargam)
The beginning of the soundtrack starts with a duet that is sung by Roop Kumar Rathod and the recent Screen awarded female playback singer Sadhna Sargam. A soft romantic number with some sweet lyrics by Mehboob. Unfortunately we don’t hear much of Sadhna in the first version but she gets the chance to show her talent in the second as a solo. The song is easy on the ears but doesn’t create enough impact to make it above average.

2. Chere Pe (Sukhwinder Singh, Sadhana Sargam, Shaan)
Sukhwinder Singh accompanied by Shaan and Sadhna Sargam join forces for this foot tapping dance number. They do a decent job with the vocals although the composition doesn’t really stick out and grab the listener – instead it’s quite a forgettable experience.

3. Arre Arre Jala Koi Mita Koi (Sunidhi Chauhan, Kallash Kher)
Sunidhi tries her hand at something a bit different. Inspired by the 80’s banjara songs, this comes across with the same feeling. Ismail tries to give us a different version of his Doli taro from HDDCS.

4. Sannate Mein (Sunidhi Chauhan)
Sunidhi Chauhan adds her vocals to this musical piece. With a loud scream in the soundtrack the listener will assume that the film has a fair amount of thrilling, edge-of-your-seat moments. Lets hope it delivers on that front in the actual movie. Somehow it doesn’t feel like Ismail Darbar has completely achieved the eerie effect he wanted in the song. It is repeated in the soundtrack again with Vijay Prakash.

5. Tujhe Paake (Kavita Subramaniam, Mohammed Salamat)
We have the privilege of hearing the melodious Kavita Subramaniam in only one song along with Mohammed Salamat. The song is a soft number with subtle music, very much like the romantic music of HDDCS. It’s one of the nicer songs from the soundtrack.

The first three tracks are repeated again:
6. Sannate Mein (Vijay Prakash)
7. Aey Subah (Sadhana Sargam)
8. Arre Arre Jala Koi Mita Koi (Sunidhi Chauhan – Live Percussion)


Leave a Comment