Indus music to hold first pop music awards

Indus Music (IM) will hold the first pop music awards ceremony in Pakistan at the Alhamra Arts Centre on July 24.

The channel has also signed an agreement with MTV whereby IM will broadcast old English songs in a show called ‘MTV Classics’, presented and produced in Pakistan.daily Times reported.

The IM music awards focus exclusively on the popular music scene in Pakistan. The awards target two specific areas of Pakistani music: the history of pop music in Pakistan and the new groups and singers that have performed on IM and new albums that have been released.

MTV VJ Sophia and others will host the awards, where upcoming local bands will sing and perform new material as well as hits from the seventies, paying tribute to singers such as Nazia, Zohaib, Ahmed Rushdi, Muhammad Ali Shehki and Alamagir. Models, actors and other artists will also perform at the awards.

‘MTV Classic’ will start running on IM within two weeks and will be hosted by Pakistani VJs. IM recently started playing Indian songs in a programme called ‘MTV 123’ that was launched a few weeks ago.

The nominees for the IM Music Awards are:

Best band: Strings, Fuzon, Noori, Junoon and Karvan

Best album: Ali Zafar (Huqa Pani), Jawad Ahmed (Jind Jaan Soniye), Junoon (Deewar), Sheraz Opal (Tea Tay Mera)

Best song by a male artist: Ahmed Jahanzeb Ali Zafar, Fakhir, Ibrarul Haq and Fuzon

Best song by a female artist: Fareeha Pervaiz, Humera Arshad, Hadiqa Kayani, Huma Khawaja and Sehar

Best male pop artist: Shehzad Roy, Ali Azmat, Ali Zafar, Faakhir and Najam Shiraz

Best female pop artist: Fareeha Pervaiz, Humera Arshad, Hadiqa Kiyani, Huma Khwaja and Sehar

Best alternative song: EP, Rushk, Ali Abbas, Mizraab, Mekaal Hasan Band and Dr Aur Billa

Best rock song: Mizraab, Noori, Mizmaar, Karvan, and Junoon

Best debut: Ali Zafar, Mishi Khan, Danish, Shujja Haider and Khadeeja

Best lyrics: Anwar Maqsood, Khawar, Sabir Zafar, Muhammad Nasir and Shafqat Amanat Ali

Best video: Shujja Javed, Jani, Asim Raza, Amena and Ahsen Raheem

Best soundtrack:
Waqar Ali, Amir Saleem and Faakhir

Best ballad: Haroon, Fuzon, Ahmed Jahanzeb, Ali Haider and Jawad Ahmed

Best bhangra song:
Fareeha Pervaiz, Humera Arshad, Saleem Javed, Ibrarul Haq, Mazhar Rahi and Falam.

1 thought on “Indus music to hold first pop music awards”

Leave a Comment